Throwback Thursday: Jackie Robinson Day 4/15/13

It’s Throwback Thursday so I thought I’d talk a bit about my trip to Dodger Stadium back in April! I went to Jackie Robinson Day on April 15, 2013. :]

The traffic was, of course, insane getting into Dodger Stadium. But seeing the beauty that is Dodger Stadium is SO worth it! When we took our seats, we had probably a half hour until game time. It was awesome to just sit there and enjoy the sights & sounds! Before the game started, we got to see Rachel Robinson, Sharon Robinson, Don Newcombe, Roy Campanella’s family and Harrison Ford! Harrison threw out the first pitch. I couldn’t believe I was in the same stadium as those great people! Very surreal.

We lost 6-3 that night but I got to see one of my favorite pitchers, CBills (Chad Billingsley)! I miss that guy! Get better soon!

If you haven’t seen 42, well.. why haven’t you? It’s amazing! I’ve seen it 30+ times and I can definitely quote most of the movie. All of the actors and actresses did such a great job! I sometimes forget it’s Harrison Ford acting because it’s like he disappears and Branch Rickey appears.

Jackie Robinson is a legend. What he went through.. I’m sure a lot of us couldn’t even imagine. What an inspirational, amazing man! It was an absolute honor to be there on Jackie Robinson Day 2013. Thank you, Jackie.

Leave a comment